Posted by: veggietot | March 11, 2010

Heather’s Salsa

Hearty Wholesome Peach Salsa My distress: 2
His mess: TBD
Overall success: TBD

My friend Heather asked on Facebook, “Does salsa count as a vegetable for my toddler?”  Overwhelmingly, the response was “Of course.”  Looking at the Tostito jar in my fridge, I’m surprised that I know what every single ingredient is and high corn fructose syrup is not one of them. Made me think, maybe it’s not a bad option, but here’s the rub. Serving size is 2 Tbsp and sodium is 250 mg(10% of DV)! A-ha!

My response since I’m OBSESSED with wholesome veggies for my tot was to buy the heartier package in the produce section rather than the ChiChi’s bottle.  OR could I make a salsa that required a bottle opener more than the sharp edge of a knife.  Answer: I SURE CAN.

Heather, I hope little M likes the salsa that you create. Use whatever is in your pantry and fridge. suggestions are below this evening’s recipe made in honor of Heather.

Heather’s Salsa
small handful of an onion/corn mixture leftover from two bean burgers
2 garlic cloves
a little lemon rind leftover
small amount of spinach
4 canned peach slices
little dash of salt
Food process till well minced.
1 tomato (quartered and rough parts removed)
It wasn’t tomato-y enough, so I drained and added a 16 oz jar of no-salt added diced tomatoes.
Food process till well chopped.  I would’ve loved to have a little jalepeno, but it’s a nice soft, sweet salsa for the kiddos.

hearty salsa basic

Tomatoes hearty salsa

Other ideas to add to your salsa: red pepper (fresh or jar of roasted), pineapple, black beans, cilantro, parsley, whole celery stalk, avocado, jalepeno, vinegar, and….(leave your comments for other fresh ideas).


Responses

  1. Awesome….thank you!!!

  2. Dear Veggie-Tot mom,

    Does ketchup count as a veggie?

    Love,
    Veggies-Not mom

    • I’m going to have to put the stops on ketchup, Veggies-Not Mom. Try all your dipping options though, like mustard, hummus, salad dressings, and beet hummus!


Leave a comment

Categories